Connect with us


A list of Nigerian universities that are accredited to run Postgraduate programmes


A list of Nigerian universities that are accredited to run Postgraduate programmes

In Nigeria, the National Universities Commission (NUC) is responsible for regulating the activities of universities. it is the sole body that grants Nigerian universities permission to offer a particular course to students in their institution.

Also Read: A course on composition and structure of blood

They are equally responsible for permitting universities to run postgraduate programmes.

What are Postgraduate programmes ?

Post graduate programmes are specialized courses that is been offered by institutions (universities) to graduates who wish to obtain a second degree or further their studies.

Also Read: Materials and resources for Students and lecturers during this period of lockdown

Examples of Postgraduate programmes
  • Post graduate diploma (PGD)
  • Post graduate diploma in Education (PGDE)
  • Master of Science (M.Sc)
  • Master of Education (M.Ed)
  • Master of Arts (M.A)
  • Master of Business administration (MBA)
  • Master of Engineering (M.Eng)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (ph.D), etc.

Meanwhile, the National universities commission recently observed that some universities are running Postgraduate programmes without their approval.

The Commission has also observed that some Parastatals and Institutes are awarding Postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliations with Nigerian and foreign Universities.

These practices are against the National universities commission ethics and as well time based quality assurance practices. Therefore, such academic qualification obtained through such institutions are null and void.

List of Federal Universities in Nigeria accredited to run Postgraduate programmes
  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  • Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  • Bayero University, Kano
  • Federal University of Technology, Akure
  • Federal University of Technology, Minna
  • Federal University of Technology, Owerri
  • Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
  • National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos
  • Nigeria Defence Academy, Kaduna
  • Nnamdi Azikwe University, Akwa
  • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife
  • University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
  • University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
  • University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  • University of Benin, Benin City
  • University of Calabar, Calabar
  • University of Ibadan, Ibadan
  • University of Ilorin, Ilorin
  • University of Jos, Jos
  • University of Lagos, Akoko
  • University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  • University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt
  • University of Uyo, Uyo
  • Usmanu Dan Fodio University, Sokoto
  • Federal University, Lafia
  • Federal University, Ndufu-alike
  • Federal University, Dutse
  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurum
  • Federal University, Oye- Ekiti
  • Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna
List of state Universities in Nigeria accredited to run Postgraduate programmes
  • Abia State University, Uturu
  • Adamawa State University, Mubi
  • Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko
  • Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  • Anambra University, Uli
  • Benue State University, Makurdi
  • Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
  • Delta State University, Abraka
  • Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  • Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti
  • Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  • Imo State University, Owerri
  • Kogi State University, Anyigba
  • Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  • Lagos State University, Ojo
  • Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  • Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  • Rivers State University of Science and Technology
  • Umar Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
  • Gombe State University, Gombe
  • Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai
  • Kano State University of Science and Technology
  • Kebbi State University of Science and Technology
  • Kwara State University, Malete
  • Kaduna State University, Kaduna
  • Bauchi State University, Gadau
  • Yobe State University, Damaturu
  • Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni
  • Tai Solarin University of Education
  • Osun State University, Osogbo
List of private universities in Nigeria accredited to run Postgraduate programmes
  • African University of Science and Technology, Abuja
  • American University of Nigeria, Yola
  • Babcock University, Ilishan Remo
  • Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  • Bowen University, Iwo
  • Covenant University, Ota
  • Igbiniedo University, Okada
  • Pan-African University, Lekki
  • Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State
  • Caleb University, Lagos
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  • Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
  • Afe Babalola University, – Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State
  • Lead City University, Ibadan (MSc. Only)
  • University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc. Only)
  • Madona University, Okija
  • Al-hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc. Only)
  • Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike , Enugu state.
  • Adeleke University,Ede
  • Veritas University, Abuja
  • Achievers University,Owo
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina
  • Baze University, Abuja
  • Bells Universityof Technology, Ota
  • Crawford University, Igbesa
  • Crescent University, Abeokuta
  • Fountain University, Osogbo
  • Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  • Novena University, Ogume
  • Salem University, Lokoja.
  • Bingham University, Karu

One must try as much as possible to make proper research before enrolling for any Postgraduate programme

This is because, one needs to know if his choice institution has been permitted by NUC to run such programme.

Kindly visit and like our social media handles for more engaging contents

Facebook @ http:///

Twitter @

Related posts

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Admission

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,694 other subscribers


To Top
error: Content is protected !!